I haven’t been updating my blog because it is final exam time. I started thinking that it’s not fair that my blog rival doesn’t have to write final exams because then he has more time to blog (clearly there is nothing to do in life if you aren’t studying) and is thus beating me in our blogwar.

BUT I HAVE OVERCOME THIS DILEMMA WITH THE ULTIMATE LEARNING INVENTION: BLEARNING

Blearning is where you blog about what you’ve studied, consequently reinforcing the material, getting 100% on all exams, and beating all rivals at life.

While nobody will probably read the knowledgeable words that ensue, I feel that shut up.

BLEARNING: THE FIRST INSTALLMENT

Let’s talk agriculture… al development that is!
Here’s the DL as taught by Chris Bennett (holla).
First off, institutions are all up in development’s grill, affecting the way assets are distributed among peeps and consequently, who has can influence institutions and policies. Example: If some crazy minority is all powerful and like “yo, nobody gets land rights except us!” errbody else will be all “whaa, now I have no property or assets to secure a loan and I can’t borrow when my crops fail and now I’m all poor… I also don’t want to invest in my land because it could be arbitrarily confiscated and so there’s is no point in thinking about the future… that is whack!”

So as C-Dogg would say, institutions can be an asset or a hindrance. They should be picking up signals from the peripheries, reacting to them, and remaining accountable. What would prevent this? A few somethin somethins I like to call dispersed interests having no means of coordination, exclusivity, mistrust from past institutions (insert interesting paper by Nathan Nunn on the slave trade) and the general inability of actors to make credible, LT commitments. Reminder to self: write stuff about managing assets.

Today I didn’t recycle my paper coffee cup = ENVIRONMENTAL DEGREDATION! My act is equivalent to people cutting down too many trees. Not really, but I wanted to use this as an example. WHAT TO DO ABOUT CUTTING DOWN TOO MANY TREES?!

“Let’s shorten the length of licenses that give people rights to cut trees!”
OH HELL’S NO! Maybe we should give them indefinite rights to the forest because then they would have incentive to keep planting trees for future profits. If I’m only allowed to cut down trees for one year and then my license expires, I’ma cut down a lot of trees. It’s like how I always binge on cookies. I’m only going to live for x number of years so I should eat cookies while I can. If I had infinite life then I would not eat so many cookies today.

MARKET FAILURES AND ENVIRONMENTAL DEGREDATION:
– insecurity of resource ownership
– unpriced or thin markets
– public goods
– negative externalities
– myopic behaviour
– risk and uncertainty
– monopolies
– irreversibility
– transaction costs

I like how this has just become me writing random words that nobody will understand. Lasers.

The next topic was on aid but it wasn’t very interesting or useful. More interesting is the debate about whether aid is effective and Dambisa Moyo’s book, Dead Aid. I’m not sure if I agree with everything she says, but it’s a good read. So Sorry C.Bennett, but all I have to say about aid is that it might be a bit more successful if “beneficiaries” are included as partners in aid projects. Why are people still building schools when there aren’t any teachers or when children are too sick to go to school? TELL ME WHY (ain’t nothin but a heartache).

kthanksbye

