Q1: (d) All of these puzzle pieces are triangles (or squares depending on the date) and therefore have SHARP POINTY EDGES! Not suitable for a child’s puzzle. Now I realize that most puzzles have pieces with somewhat pointy edges, but that’s why the boxes say for people aged 8 and up! And I define a child to be someone who is under the age of 8, or me. Maybe I didn’t explicitly state this in the question, but if you’re going to succeed in grad school, you need to learn to read between the lines.

Q2: The answer is (d) but let’s go through this step-by-step. First, (a). Goats chew on everything. It is a fact of life and one that you clearly need to learn if you chose this answer. What about (b)? A viable option had I made a reference to Noah’s Arc. But I didn’t. (c) is there to weed out the people who automatically choose the fancy-looking words. That leaves (d) and (e). I ran out of words by the time I got to (e), so I just looked at what was around me and used those words (you should’ve seen that sweet, towering tree…). By the powers of cancelling out answers that could be right but are probably wrong, we are left with (d).

Q3: This question makes no sense. First of all, who wants to move to Ontario? Ok, I kid, I kid. But seriously. Who wants to move to Ontario? Replace that with Saskatchewan and things might be ok, but until that happens, the answer is (e).

Q4:  Thanks to my good friend Crystal, who is a pig whisperer, I learned that pigs chew on each other’s tails! That’s why they have to be cut short. A sad fact of life. Ergo, if we have 5 pigs that are each 1.5m long, the pig line would be 7.5m IF they don’t chew on each other’s curly waggers. But they do. But we don’t know how much they chew. So the answer is clearly not (a) and it is clearly not (b), but it could be (c) depending on hunger levels and general juiciness of tails. Correct answer: (e)

