Heather’s Travelogue: Part 2 – flight to Chicago and inside O’Hare airport

5:35 p.m.: Am on plane, which is supposed to be completely full. All seats are filled except for the two beside me. I feel unloved.

5:36 p.m.: The three people behind me have started a conversation about football. I am jealous of their bonding and look longingly at the empty seats beside me.

5:38 p.m.: Two women sit down in the seats beside me. My mood improves until they refuse to engage in conversation. My heart slowly blackens and a piece of it falls off and dies.

5:39 p.m.: I find an unopened pack of gum in the seat pocket in front of me. I consider the risks associated with eating things you find on the ground/seat pockets. A quick calculation tells me it is worth the risk. The flavour is enjoyable and my mood improves.

6:37 p.m.: I can tell that the woman beside me is wondering why I am recording everyone’s actions on my napkin. I pretend to be asleep.

7: 42 p.m.: I awaken, surprised to find out that pretending to be asleep can lead to actual sleep. We are about to land.

8:30 p.m.: I have found my gate at the Chicago O’Hare airport. I buy a sandwich. It isn’t that good.

8:45 p.m.: I regret trying to scratch the happy faces I drew on my visa off with the back of my pen. I look through the window, not to be confused with a door, and dream of Tim Hortons.

 

Coming up next: Travelogue Part 3 – Final Destination.

 

