Tomorrow I move to Toronto. This is how the move has gone so far.

9 AM: Take out piles of recycling that have built up while packing. I realize that my PhD certificate thing was in the pile of recycling. I rummage through recycling to retrieve it. Woman from a laundromat yells at me for going through her recycling. I give up and concede that I no longer have a PhD. What a waste of 6 years.

10:30 AM: Call moving company to confirm that they are coming tomorrow morning. They were supposed to come Monday but then kept changing the date. Tomorrow is the last day they can come before I’m evicted. They say they are probably coming tomorrow and hang up. I cry.

Noonish: I’ve been putting things that I’m not taking with me on the side of the street with a “Free” sign. I’ve been impressed with how quickly things go so I decide to see how far I can take it. I put out a set of dishes, four broken chairs, and a poem that I wrote with rose petals taped onto it.

12:15 PM: The plates are gone. The poem has been crumpled into a ball.

2 PM: A Tupperware lid that I put in my “free” box is gone. There was no container. Someone just took a lid.

3 PM: I try to carry a computer monitor home from my office. I drop it twice.

4 PM: I call the moving company again. They don’t answer.

5-7 PM: I have several beers.

8 PM: I try to disassemble my bed. I drop a piece of wood on my foot and am now missing a toenail. If I find the toenail I’ll put it in my “free” box.