I’m not sure why, but I’ve been fortunate to receive much wisdom from various people in the past couple of weeks. So I’ve decided to pay it forward by writing about some things I’ve learned in my own life. I begin with the story of the vacuum.

Once my older brother dropped a vacuum on my face. He was standing on a balcony, holding a large vacuum cleaner (as kids do), and told me to look up. He then pushed the vacuum over the balcony and onto my face. From this incident, I learned not to vacuum. Better to live in filth than to have a fat lip. This is my piece of advice #1.

The second piece of advice is that looks come and go, but paper bags are forever. When I went to school with a balloon-like face (due to falling vacuums), many other kids made fun of me. My dad said “soon, the swelling will go away to reveal a beautiful face and you just need to ignore those other kids for now! You are learning who your real friends are!”

The swelling went away, but my dad said “ah, guess I was wrong. Here is a paper bag.”

As such, buy a good paper bag.

You’re welcome. Pay it forward.